Workwoman’s Guide – Fig. 28 Cap: Part Two

IMAG1093And we’re done! Well…. almost. I need to go a-hunting through my trimming stash to find that roll of narrow tape I purchased last summer so that I can cut a few pieces to become cap ties. But other than that – this charming little cap is complete. I probably spent another 3 hours on the cap, all the gathering and then backstitching to attach the ruffle was fairly tedious but I’m happy with the result. Although this cap won’t see hard use, it will likely need to be laundered so I also overcast all the seams and that added a nice finishing touch. A hit with the iron wouldn’t hurt either!

I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep it or add it to the volunteer costumes at work but I’m pretty sure it won’t be the last cap I make from this pattern in either case.

IMAG1094I’m so sure of that I went ahead a created a printable version of the pattern to be printed on 11″x17″ paper. Hardly perfect, but the measurements and lines are darn close! Here’s the download: Workwomans Guide – Cap 27

More interesting photos will likely follow in future posts but since I was at work at an ungodly hour this morning, I have neither the patience nor the time to whip my hair into anything resembling an 1820s hairstyle. However, I have been enjoying my reading of The Lady’s Stratagem: A Repository of 1820s Directions for the Toilet, Mantua-Making, Stay-Making, Millinery & Etiquette by Frances Grimble and there are actually some really usable styling techniques described. So here’s hoping I’ll find some time and motivation soon!

One thought on “Workwoman’s Guide – Fig. 28 Cap: Part Two

  1. Pingback: 1830s Pantry Apron – Part One | The Mantua Maker at Midnight

Leave a Reply

