A pretty old book

To say things have been busy is an understatement at the very least! It’s been nearly two weeks since I attended the Vintage Textile Show in Sturbridge with A.M. and I’m sad to say I’m just looking at my purchases for the first time since then!

image

Not so pretty on the outside...

And here is treasure #1 – Ladies’ Tailor-Made Costumes, Fall and Winter 1909-10. Admittedly it’s not much to look at on the outside with signs of water damage and mildew. However it dry and no powder residue to be seen. (I will still ask my rare book ans conservation friends for advice… But not at this hour!)

What’s inside is much cooler anyway…

image

image

Yes, yes, those are dress and coat designs…. AND pages and pages of fabric swatches! Once I have a bit more free time on my hands, I’ll be scanning the entire book and making it available for downloads. For now, I’m just enjoying the fact that I have a few minutes to flip through the pages myself!

Leave a Reply

