Dorothy Gale of Kansas

dorothy sepia

Do you remember the first time you saw the Wizard of Oz? I have to admit, I don’t but when I watch it these days, I still love the part where it goes from sepia-toned Kansas to technicolor Oz! This very sweet Dorothy costume was made for VS, one of my two nieces,  and she’s been looking forward to getting it since last Halloween. She was Rapunzel last year (also way cute!)  and I’m told that even as she was trick-or-treating, she was already telling everyone that she would be Dorothy next time! Well, fast forward 11 months and she was still sticking to her guns. I used the ‘official’ Wizard of Oz pattern by Simplicity so it wasn’t as if I was being particularly creative on this one, but it was still fun to make!

Sparkles. Lots and lots of sparkles. The shoes ended up getting their own bag just to keep the glitter contained!

Sparkles. Lots and lots of sparkles. The shoes ended up getting their own bag just to keep the glitter contained!

The only real changes I made were to underline the gingham skirt to give it a bit more body and I added some horsehair braid at the hem to help give the edge a bit more definition. I can’t wait to see it on her! And the best part may very well be the ruby slippers…

I started with some glittery silver shoes from Wal-Mart (ugh… I know) and then painted them with diluted Elmer’s glue before pouring lots and lots of red glitter all over them. The shoes dried for a day or two and then I repeated it again – these things are crazy sparkly now! I used a red glitter glue squeeze bottle to cover the shoe binding – in the photo, only the shoe on the right has been finished so you can still see the original silver binding on the other shoe. They probably won’t be the most comfortable things to wear (they’re a bit crunchy at the moment) but they do look the part… and after all, it’s only for one night, right?

dorothy

Sweet isn’t it? Makes me want to go watch the movie again…

And until I actually get some photos of the dress on little miss V, here’s a shot of the technicolor version for your viewing pleasure!

For the record, the shoes took a an hour or two over the course of a week, and the dress took about 6 hours, start to finish. I had purchased all the material and notions and even pre-washed the fabric about a month ago, so it was straight to work once I started in on it!

Now it’s off to see the Wizard, the wonderful Wizard of Oz!

Leave a Reply

